On Not Having It All

“You can have it all. Just not all at the same time.”

I saw this on Pinterest a little while ago, and it really got me thinking. What an interesting idea, that you can have everything your heart desires, but not necessarily all at once. I think the reason this quote really stuck with me because it’s something I’ve felt quite strongly this year. Let me explain. Last year, I was in a long distance relationship. The boy lived really far away, so I only got to see him every three months, for two weeks at a time. I couldn’t just pick up the phone and call him, and Skype was only possible when the wifi was working. It was tough. I was also in my final (as in sixth!) year of studying. I was fed up with spending weekends at my desk, not having a social life and having very little in the way of income. However, it was also a year that I really devoted myself to a healthy lifestyle. My body was in the best shape it’s ever been, and I felt fit and strong. So what I’m getting at is that in the relationship and financial departments of my life, I was lacking. However in terms of my body, I was excelling.

This year things have turned around somewhat. The boy moved back home, and now lives five minutes down the road from me. Amazing! I couldn’t be happier to have him back. I also started my internship, and as a result started getting a salary.  So now I do grown up things like pay tax and have my own medical aid, but I can also afford to buy nice clothes and have dinners at lovely restaurants. However, my healthy, fit lifestyle has fallen by the wayside. Longer hours spent at work and doing night shifts has left me with less time and inclination to spend hours in the gym and kitchen. So now I have a full time boyfriend and a steady salary, but I don’t particularly love the way my body looks.

I can’t tell you how I’ve struggled with this. I had just assumed that where things were lacking last year they would just be made up for this year. I certainly didn’t think one would fall away. It’s frustrated me to no end-why can’t I have it all, do it all, be it all?

To be honest I don’t think I’m alone in feeling like this. As people it’s only natural to want the best for our lives. However it’s important to realise that your best life doesn’t necessarily mean a life with everything going the way we want it to. Only recently have I made peace with the fact that I don’t have to have it all. I don’t have to do it all. And you know what? That’s perfectly ok. I am a lot happier than I was last year. I am more confident in my ability as a doctor. I am in a loving relationship with someone who doesn’t live miles away. I have great friends and a wonderful family. Does it really matter that I don’t have skinny thighs or can’t say no to a croissant? The answer is a resounding ‘no’. It may have taken me up until now to realise this, but I finally get it.  We don’t have to do it all. And you can have it all, just not all at the same time.

 

Do you agree? I’d love to know what you think.

Thanks for stopping by ❤

G xxx

Leave a Reply

