How a Cat Changed My Life

Let me start with a disclaimer that this post falls under the “life” category of this blog, and has nothing whatsoever to do with medicine. This is a little story about a little cat who has changed my life ❀

As I mentioned in the previous post, 2014 was a pretty shitty year, especially towards the end of it. That’s important only for the fact that it was a time when I really wasn’t feeling very optimistic about very much. Imagine my surprise then, when I happened to discover that a tiny stray kitten had wandered, quite literally, into my life. To cut a long story short, we rescued this abandoned and somewhat wild cat who had got himself lost and ended up in our garden. He stayed there for about three days until we managed to catch him, an incident met with much scratching and hissing on his behalf. Having discovered he didn’t belong to anyone, and his mom had left him to fend for himself, we decided to keep this little creature… All 700 grams of him (including the ticks, fleas and worms).

Having grown up with only dogs, I wasn’t really sure how to proceed with this cat. He was nervous of humans and I had no clue how to get him to like me. Turns out my extensive experience with dogs was pretty much null and void when it came to the cat. He didn’t come when I called him, didn’t wag his tail when I patted him, and certainly wouldn’t play fetch with a stupid object like a ball. I felt like I was 14 again, with a crush on a boy who paid me no interest at all. I was in love (yes, the L word) with a cat and he didn’t want anything to do with me. But my persistence eventually won him over. I’m not sure if it was out of true affection or he was just sick to death of me trying to get him to like me (I’ll assume the former) but after a few days he was sitting on my lap letting me rub his ears (talk about moving quickly).

So it was that this cat became an extremely important member of my life. And how my life changed! For those first few weeks I would race home from work just so I could see him. I started wandering the aisles of pet stores looking at blingy cat toys (seriously though, all cat toys have more sequins, bells and feathers than a strip club), edible treats that cure anything from foul breath to hair balls, and exorbitantly priced wooden poles covered in horrible carpet for cats to scratch their little nails on. It was an education.

Our relationship developed quickly, and it wasn’t long before I let him sleep in my bed. On my pillow. I know this is wrong, I don’t need your disapproving looks. But how do you say no to this face?

image

It hasn’t all been rainbows and butterflies, as Adam Levine once taught us. The cat has a terrible habit of waking me in the middle of the night to play. His method includes walking over me, pushing his head against my cheek and, my personal favourite, licking my nostril. He’s a charming fellow. He also hisses at guests and doesn’t like to be picked up and cuddled ferociously (I can’t understand why).

However, for all his misgivings, this little soul has truly changed my life. He brings me so much joy, and I think it’s safe to say he loves me as much as I love him. The feeling when he cuddles up next to you, rests his chin on your leg, and lets out a contented little purr is priceless.

His name is Gatsby by the way, after the brilliant novel. And he really is great.

(On a side note, please excuse the abundant use of brackets in this post).

Thanks for stopping by ❀
G xxx

Leave a Reply

